Rajasthan Political Crisis 2020

Table of content

1. Introduction

2. Major leader of this crisis

2.1 Sachin Pilot

2.2 Ashok Gehlot

3. How it all started

4. Arrangement of Assembly

5. Supreme Court , High Court , Governor , Speaker


Have you ever think when we choose our representative ( by our right to vote ) who is going to represent us in the state legislative assembly or house of people and makes laws on behalf of us. What if that, itself that person going to violates that law that makes no sense at all when we talk about the law of rule which is established by democracy.

 It all the drama or the politics crisis of Rajasthan started with a Sachin Pilot, whose rebellion has left the congress teetering on another cliff – edge in a matter of three months. Now let’s start our story with, who played the major role in the crisis.

Sachin Pilot –

He was previously a member of the Indian Parliament for the Ajmer in 2009 and Dausa in 2004.

He served as the Minister of Cooperate Affairs in the second Manmohan Singh Ministry.

In the 2018 Legislative Assembly elections, Sachin Pilot won from Tonk seat.

Ashok Gehlot –

Current Chief Minister of Rajasthan. He held this position from December 1998 to 2003 , and from 2008 – 2013 , and try again from December 2018.

In 1980 he contested Lok Sabha election from Jodhpur and won by a margin of 52,519 votes.

In 1984 he was appointed as the Union Minister.

This story is started with these two major players who has very fine leader in politics of Rajasthan.

How it all Started –

On 12th July 2020, around 19 members of the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly, as claimed by Ex- Deputy Chief Minister of Rajasthan Sachin Pilot, flew to Delhi after disputes between the portfolios. After the election of 2018 the congress government came in two powers. But the disputes also started with government and that disputes of department come end with this political crisis in the state of Rajasthan.

And this drama keeps going on again Congress Party along with CM Gehlot and other congress leaders held a meeting for the confidence motion.

After that meeting on 14th July 2020, Sachin Pilot was removed from the post of Deputy Chief Minister of Rajasthan and President of Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee along with his 3 MLAs also from the post of ministers.

Arrangement of Assembly - The legislative assembly of Rajasthan has 200 seats. The minimum seats required for forming the government is 101. After the election congress the largest party having 124 MLAs in support but after this crisis 19 MLAs of Congress left the party including big leader of Rajasthan and Deputy CM of the state Sachin Pilot. So they reduced from 124 to 105 after the 19 members left the Party. But the interesting thing is still they are majority because they are 105 in numbers and the minimum seats required is 101. But the problem is still unsolved when we are talking about Mr. Gehlot because to break 3-4 MLAs now a days in not a big deal in current political situations.  

Supreme Court , High Court , Governor , Speaker –

The matter is first approach to Rajasthan High Court when Pilot and his 18 supporters were given disqualification notices by assembly speaker CP Joshi. CP Joshi, the speaker says the Pilot group is involved in anti – party activates. They are not attending the meetings of Party. The notice was given on the request of congress chief whip who said Pilot and his supporters did not attend the party’s CLP meetings. But according to previous judgments of Supreme Court a whip applies only when the assembly is in session and due to pandemic Covid – 19 the situation is not that allows to do assembly. And Sachin Pilot group also argued in the court that how you can issue whip during the assembly is not in session. And the High Court ordered to the speaker not to decide the disqualification notices he had issued to the group of 19 lawmakers led by Sachin Pilot.

But the matter is going more interesting when the Speaker CP Joshi moves to Supreme Court filing a special leave petition (SLP) against High Court Order giving breathe to Pilot camp.  

In that petition the Speaker also stated that the High Court order violated ‘Kihoto Hollohan’ case decided by the Supreme Court in 1992. In the case of ‘Kihoto Hollohan’ a constitutional bench expressly held that the court cannot interdict the speaker from proceeding ahead at the quia timet stage. Now, Gehlot sends to Kalraj Mishra Governor of state to start a new assembly session from July 31. This is all the Rajasthan Political Crisis which continues till date.

Authored by: Abhishek Pathak 

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All





  • communications (1)
  • Instagram
  • gmail
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

©2020 by Lawtsapp.com